A Right Worthy Woman by Watson, Ruth P.

A Right Worthy Woman

Regular price$28.00
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Format
In the vein of The Personal Librarian and The House of Eve, a "remarkable and stirring novel" (Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author) based on the inspiring true story of Virginia's Black Wall Street and the indomitable Maggie Lena Walker, the daughter of a formerly enslaved woman who became the first Black woman to establish and preside over a bank in the United States.

Maggie Lena Walker was ambitious and unafraid. Her childhood in 19th-century Virginia helping her mother with her laundry service opened her eyes to the overwhelming discrepancy between the Black residents and her mother's affluent white clients. She vowed to not only secure the same kind of home and finery for herself, but she would also help others in her community achieve the same.

With her single-minded determination, Maggie buckled down and went from schoolteacher to secretary-treasurer of the Independent Order of St. Luke, founder of a newspaper, a bank, and a department store where Black customers were treated with respect. With the help of influential friends like W.E.B. DuBois and Mary McLeod, she revolutionized Richmond in ways that are still felt today. Now, "with rich period detail and emotional impact" (Tracey Enerson Wood, author of The Engineer's Wife), her riveting full story is finally revealed in this stirring and intimate novel.

Author: Ruth P. Watson
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: 06/13/2023
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1lbs
Size: 9.00h x 6.30w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781668003022


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 04/15/2023
Booklist 05/15/2023 pg. 36
Publishers Weekly 05/22/2023

About the Author
Ruth P. Watson is the author of Blackberry Days of Summer, An Elderberry Fall, Cranberry Winter, and Strawberry Spring. A musical stage play, Blackberry Daze, is based on her debut novel. She is the recipient of the Caversham Fellowship, an artist and writer's residency in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, where she published her first children's book in Zulu, Our Secret Bond. She is a freelance writer and member of Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, and has written for Upscale, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and other publications. She is an adjunct professor and project manager, who lives with family in Atlanta, Georgia.

We offer worldwide shipping.

All baymarbookgroup.ca orders over $100
(before taxes) are eligible for FREE standard shipping within Canada and
the United States.

Estimated Delivery Times Outside the USA

Area / Country Standard International Shipping
(Not Trackable)
International Courier Trackable 
Asia 10-14 days 4-6 days
Australia 18-20 days 4-6 days
Canada 10-14 days 4-6 days
Caribbean 14-18 days 4-6 days
Europe 10-14 days 4-6 days
India 16-20 days 4-6 days
Latin America 10-14 days 4-6 days
Middle East 16-20 days 4-6 days

You may also like


Recently viewed