A Taste of Magic by Elle, J.

A Taste of Magic

Regular price$17.00
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Format

"An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more." - Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling author

New York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch and must save her inner-city magic school from closing, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.

Kyana Turner has just found out the family secret--she's a witch! This means mandatory lessons every Saturday at Park Row Magick Academy, the magic school hidden in the back of her local beauty shop. Learning spells, discovering charms and potion recipes, and getting a wand made to match her hair's curl pattern, Kyana feels like she's a part of something really special. The hardest part will be keeping her magic a secret from non-Magick folks, including her BFF, Nae.

But when the school loses funding, the students must either pay a hefty tuition at the academy across town or have their magic stripped . . . permanently. Determined not to let that happen, Kyana comes up with a plan to win a huge cash prize in a baking competition. After all, she's learned how to make the best desserts from her memaw. But as Kyana struggles to keep up with magic and regular school, prepare for the competition, and keep her magic secret, she wonders if it's possible to save her friendships, too. And what will she do when, in the first round of competition, a forbidden dollop of magic whisks into her cupcakes?

J. Elle's debut middle grade fantasy is full of humor, heart, and mouthwatering desserts.

Author: J. Elle
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Published: 08/30/2022
Pages: 304
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 1.1lbs
Size: 8.31h x 5.89w x 1.27d
ISBN: 9781547606719
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.3
Point Value: 10
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 518022 / Taste of Magic


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 07/04/2022
Kirkus Reviews 06/15/2022
Booklist 07/01/2022 pg. 79

About the Author

J. Elle is the New York Times bestselling author of the YA novels Wings of Ebony and Ashes of Gold and is an advocate for marginalized voices in both publishing and her community. Born in Houston, Texas, J. is a first-generation college student with a Bachelor of Journalism and Master of Arts in Educational Administration and Human Development. Her passion for empowering youth dates back before writing to her first career in education. She's worked as a Preschool Director, Middle School Teacher, and High School Creative Writing Mentor. In her spare time you'll find her volunteering at an alternative school, providing feedback for aspiring writers, loving on her three littles, or cooking up some dish true to her Texas and Louisiana roots.
authorjelle.com
@AuthorJ_Elle


We offer worldwide shipping.

All baymarbookgroup.ca orders over $100
(before taxes) are eligible for FREE standard shipping within Canada and
the United States.

Estimated Delivery Times Outside the USA

Area / Country Standard International Shipping
(Not Trackable)
International Courier Trackable 
Asia 10-14 days 4-6 days
Australia 18-20 days 4-6 days
Canada 10-14 days 4-6 days
Caribbean 14-18 days 4-6 days
Europe 10-14 days 4-6 days
India 16-20 days 4-6 days
Latin America 10-14 days 4-6 days
Middle East 16-20 days 4-6 days

You may also like


Recently viewed